The OC’s Top 10 Music Moments

 

No, you based your entire teenage persona around Seth Cohen!!!!

Okay, I’m sure most of us, ah hell, all of us based our musical taste around what posters were on Seth Cohen’s wall. Who didn’t pause episodes to see the poster within the frame, and then listen to their most played songs on Youtube? Just me????

Remember when Marissa and Seth had a little moment in Episode 2 of Season 1 “The Model Home”? Seth and Marissa apparently had the same music taste! But guess what, apparently that didn’t matter because music isn’t something you look to share with friends. (Said no one ever). I LITERALLY SEARCH DAY IN AND DAY OUT FOR SOMEONE WITH THE SAME MUSICAL TASTE…WHERE ARE YOU MARISSA? I’LL TAKE YOU AND YOUR ANGRY PUNK LOVE.

When I find someone who has the same taste in music as me, I will hold on to them forever and never let go. I’m looking at you ANNA.

Good thing is I don’t hold on too much..I just wish Anna never left. I need an Anna. We all need an Anna. WHERE ARE ALL OF THE ANNAS OF THE WORLD??

Anywho, in celebration of The OC ending just over ten years ago, and everyone and their brother publishing an OC top 10 music moments, I feel as though you should get one that isn’t flooded with the same ten songs. I mean I only watched every episode give or take 20 times, and can identify and remember each song in specific episodes, so it’s not like I’m a die hard fan or anything.

Point is, the show is filled with amazing indie songs throughout, and so my top ten will be based around the songs that gave me the most feels, whether it was laughter, happiness, or soul crippling sadness.

Here they are,

#10- The Dandy Warhols- “We Used to be Friends” S.1- Ep.12 “The Secret”

Okay, this is like my favourite episode of the OC ever, and more importantly this scene is incredible besides the fact that indie band The Dandy Warhols has their fuego song “We Used to be Friends” featured in it.

“MAYBE YOU HAVE THE SUMMER FLU, AND YOU NEED ANNA BIOTICS”. HEY GUYS, RYAN IS FUNNY NOW.

#9- Blind Melon- “No Rain” S.2. Ep.14 “The Rainy Day Women”

See..its funny, cause the song is called “No Rain”, and ITS RAINING!!

From the guitar riff, to the context of which it’s being played, this scene makes me want it to rain in The OC everyday.

“He’s very wise Ryan, he had a beard” So true Seth, so true.

#8- U2- “Sometimes you can’t make it on your own” S.2. Ep.4. “The New Era”

Sentimental and happy endings were so rare in The OC, so when you got one you held on to it and constantly rewatched the episode, because you knew disaster would strike the next episode. Eternal love lasts in this episode as we get Seth and Alex, Ryan and Lindsay, and the ever so memorable Marissa, and DJ. So happy it all worked out for them. Sing it bono.

#7- Jem-“Maybe I’m Amazed” S.1 Ep. 27 “The Ties that Bind”

Okay, like we all need a good cry right? My throat has been swollen for ten years cause of this damn episode. Fuck, Ryan, why’d you have to leave and put me into a state of emotional instability!

#6- Nada Surf- “If you Leave” S.1 Ep.21 “The Goodbye Girl”

BUT WHERE ARE ALL OF THE ANNAS OF THE WORLD? AND WHY DO THEY LEAVE WHEN YOU FIND THEM. SETHS VOICE CRACK, JESUS, 14 YEAR OLD ME WAS IN THE FETAL POSITION FOR MONTHS.

#5- Placebo- “Running up that Hill” S.4 Ep.1 “The Avengers”

A broody song for a broody guy. Finally a song that matched Ryan’s personality perfectly…all it took was the love of his life..to die. SEE WHAT YOU DID MISCHA.

#4- Coldplay- “Fix You” S.2. Ep.23 “The O.Sea”

I mean, lets face it, Caleb was a jackass, and for the most part, Coldplay and I don’t get along, so this really shouldn’t be a memorable moment. But, me and 20 million other humans probably rode the bus stoically the next morning just pondering whether or not they should invest in a pool…I mean..heart conditions, am I right?

#3- Imogen Heap- “Hallelujah” S.3 Ep.26 “The Graduates”

Yeah, whatever, Mischa Barton, keep thinking you have a career outside of The OC. Never has a decision impacted a generation more. NO DECISION, AND THAT’S FINAL.

Moral of the story is, never dream big, never leave a tv show, and more importantly, never die.

#2- Youth Group- “Forever Young” S. 3. Ep.4 “The Last Waltz”

I think I listened to this song over 500 times in Grade 8, and that’s being conservative. Being blessed with heartfelt moments is a rarity, like I mentioned above, and this scene along with this song continue to give me all of the feels.

#1- Imogen Heap- “Hide and Seek” S.2 Ep. 24 “The Dearly Beloved”

Remember sprinting to your computer and scrambling to find out what this song was called so you could download it on Limewire? Yeah, so does Jason Derulo. Just know where the OG came from.

This shook me to my core, and every time I see someone on the floor with a telephone, I thank god it’s not Trey Atwood holding it.

And there you have it folks. Obvious hold out is California, but that’s easy, so I decided not to put that in.  This show has an absurd amount of great music moments, so you won’t believe how difficult it was to eliminate some of the options.

And remember guys, I’m not God. This is just my opinion.

 

 

Leave a Reply

