Fab’s Magical Time Capsule; Foxygen’s “We are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic”

Hey guys, friendly neighbourhood Fab here, thanks for your continued support throughout my on again off again hiatus. In many ways, I’m simply harnessing my inner Blink-182, my inner Modest Mouse, my inner conflicted artist, and creating some controversy and hype to further my own brand. Knew you guys would understand.

Image result for spider man seeing spiderman

The last few months have been a strange time in the life of Anotherlisten. I haven’t proactively engaged in new music all to much, and if I did it was with a bit less pressure than I did in the past. Life got in the way of my favourite hobbies, and for some twisted reason I thought I didn’t need music to bring a sense of fulfillment in my life. Boy was I wrong. Dumb idiot, wrong!

I miss the dialogue I had with music(not literally of course), and the daily process of listening and trying my hardest to sort and understand the vast array of written and musical expression. Strange to say, but I can honestly accredit Anotherlistens revitalization to Foxygen’sWe are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic” . I get goosebumps every time(I was once a ghost writer for Travis Scott) I listen to this album, and it doesn’t have anything to do with Toronto’s daily 30 degree temperature swing. It lies all in lead singer Sam France’s effortless eccentricities and magical vocal intonation.

The childish innocence I once associated with blasting music and yelping along had been lost for quite a while. As a kid I watched Austin Powers, and thought the mojo in the “Spy Who Shagged Me” was just a big joke. I now realize Mike Myers was trying to send me a message. A message for future Fab to realize the simple joys of life, and to hold onto that mojo with dear life. Thank you Austin, thank you Mike, but more importantly thank you Foxygen.

No real need for a formal review here, because the album is 5 years old after all. I just wanted to come back and remember what it’s like to talk about the music that inspires me, and makes me happy. So when you listen, put aside the obvious similarities to The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, and The Beach Boys, (because you could say that about everyone) and simply enjoy the both familiar and refreshing sounds of this magical album. I hope you guys can see and feel what I did. And if you don’t, then please never read this blog again. Kidding.

But not really.

 

Leave a comment